Discover the Best Georgia Dispensaries Near You
Georgia dispensaries are not open yet although Botanical Sciences and Trulieve have been awarded licenses. The current law allows for qualified patients to get a Georgia Cannabis Card from a recommending MMJ doctor or clinic.
Right now what this does is in essence decriminalizes the possession of a LOW THC, High CBD Cannabis Oil to card holders. To get certified, you will need to see a MMJ Doctor in person or online using MedCard telemedicine. See if you Qualify Today!
GA Dispensaries Near Me
GA Dispensary Guide
Georgia Medical Marijuana Program Overview
Type of program: Medical - low THC oil
Georgia’s House of Representatives passed HB-1, the “Haleigh’s Hope Act” in 2015, effectively legalizing the use and possession of low THC (5% max) for patients with eight specific qualifying conditions. The bill was expanded in 2017 to include six more conditions, and additionally, two more in 2018 under HB-65.
At present, qualifying medical marijuana patients in the state of Georgia do not have access to legal cannabis oil. This means they have to purchase it illegally. However, patients with a Georgia medical marijuana card will not be prosecuted for possession of under 20 fluid ounces of marijuana oil with a 5% THC content.
Georgia Department of Public Health Low THC Oil Registry Page.
Open GA Dispensaries - none
At this time there are no medical marijuana or low-THC dispensaries in Georgia, and pharmacists are prohibited from obtaining the medication for qualifying patients.
However, The Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission may purchase and transport low THC oil to Georgia for use by registered patients at some point in the not-too-distant future.
Marijuana products available in Georgia
Only low THC oil, “an oil that contains not more than 5 percent by weight of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and an amount of cannabidiol (CBD) equal to or greater than the amount of tetrahydrocannabinol” is legal for qualifying patients to possess and use in the state of Georgia.
Georgia purchase and possession limits
Qualifying patients in Georgia, with a Low-THC Registry card, are legally allowed to possess up to 20 fluid ounces of low THC oil. The product must be in its original “pharmaceutical container,” with a label indicating the THC content.
GA Marijuana Deliveries RX
Delivery of cannabis products to a home or business is not allowed.
Caregivers for low-THC patients in Georgia must follow the same guidelines as the patient and register with the Georgia Department of Public Health to receive their ID card.
Individuals applying for caregiver status must be legal guardians of an adult, or a parent or legal guardian of a minor child with a qualifying condition.
How to get a low THC card in Georgia
The first step in obtaining a Georgia medical marijuana card is to get a recommendation from a physician.
Once the recommendation has been received, two forms must be filled out. One is a waiver that must be signed by the recommending physician and the patient, the second is a doctor-certification form. The patient’s doctor will keep both forms in the qualifying patient’s medical records. The patient may also request a copy.
The recommending doctor must then submit the information to the Georgia Department of Public Health which will create a Low THC Oil Registry Card for qualifying applicants.
Low THC Registry Cards require a $25 fee, to be paid when picking up the card. It will be valid for two years from the issuing date.
GA Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions
Renew a Georgia marijuana card
In order to renew a Georgia medical marijuana card, the patient must consult with their doctor for an update. The Doctor will confirm or update patient information in the registry.
The state of Georgia does permit the use of medcard telemedicine (phone or video conference) for medical marijuana evaluations. However, not all physicians offer this service.
All physicians giving recommendations to qualifying patients for low-THC oil in the state of Georgia must give annual reports to the Department of Health. The information obtained from the reports is strictly confidential.
Georgia Marijuana Laws
Transporting cannabis in Georgia
If a qualifying patient or their caregiver needs to transport their low-THC oil either on foot or in a vehicle, the following guidelines must be followed to avoid prosecution by law enforcement.
- Must be registered with the Department of Public Health as set forth in OCGA 31-2A-18;
- Must have in their possession a Low THC Oil Registry card issued by the DPH;
- The Low THC Oil must be in a “pharmaceutical container” that has been labeled by the manufacturer to display the amount of THC that the oil contains.
Georgia hemp and CBD laws
With the exception of foods, beverages, dietary supplements, or animal feed, all CBD products are legal in the state of Georgia. In May 2019, The Georgia Hemp Farming Act, HB 213 allowed the sale of CBD with 0.3%THC or less.
Georgia residents may buy CBD online or in local shops.
Learn more about Georgia hemp and CBD laws.
Home cultivation in Georgia: not allowed
Growing marijuana at home for personal and/or commercial use is prohibited in the state of Georgia. Doing so may result in steep fines or incarceration.
The public consumption of marijuana or any cannabis products is prohibited in Georgia.
At this time, there are no lounges or facilities in the state of Georgia in which individuals may consume any form of marijuana.
Georgia medical marijuana and guns
If a patient obtains the right to use low-THC oil in the state of Georgia, they surrender their right to own a gun. The reason for this is that Marijuana is still categorized as a Schedule I Controlled Substance at the federal level and anyone who admits to using marijuana on the background check form will be denied the purchase of a firearm. Lying on the form can result in criminal charges.
What Georgia Gun Owners Need To Know Before Getting a Medical Marijuana Card
Marijuana-related DUI laws in Georgia
The penalties for driving under the influence of marijuana in the state of Georgia are stiff. A conviction can result in a $1,000 fine, 24 hours in jail, possibly community service, probation, and a risk reduction program for a first offense. The penalties go up substantially for second and third offenses or if there is a minor in the vehicle.
Pending Changes to Georgia marijuana laws
Lawmakers are working on legislation that would legalize full-strength medical marijuana products. Under the proposal, qualifying patients would have access to full-spectrum medical marijuana at Georgia dispensaries.
The legislature passed House Bill 65 during the prior legislative session. The bill created a 10-person study commission (the Low THC Medical Oil Access Commission) with the intention of improving access to marijuana oil.
Other topics included: security, product labeling, manufacturing, dispensing, and testing of products. Future meetings will include testimonies from patients, parents and organizations, doctors, law enforcement, farmers, and doctors.
Medical marijuana advocates are optimistic that the passing of Senate Bill 264 will repeal the current, stifling low-THC law and develop into a full-scale medical marijuana program.
Under the proposal, the state would make allowances for many other debilitating medical conditions. It would also permit qualifying patients the right to possess up to two ounces of medical marijuana, and grow up to eight cannabis plants for personal therapeutic use.
“Georgia’s Hope Act” aka House Bill 324, will set up a commission with the intention of establishing “production, manufacturing, and dispensing” of plant-derived THC-infused oils for qualifying patients in the state. Up to six cultivation operations will be permitted to begin manufacturing, in conjunction with the University of Georgia.
“The only thing we should be thinking about is how we can get the safest oil and the best medicine to Georgia patients,” said state Rep. Micah Gravley, a Republican from Douglasville who sponsored legislation starting the program. “The licensees should be the six companies who are capable of creating a lab-tested, trusted, safe oil, and have a tested and proven product in other states.”
The Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission recently announced its plan to review proposals and awards, possibly as soon as late spring or early summer.
According to state law, the selected companies will be granted one year to begin operations to effectively provide low-THC medicine for around 4,000 registered patients in Georgia.
“The goal is to ensure that patients have access to the highest quality medicine that we can arrive at in our state with these production facilities,” said Andrew Turnage, the commission’s executive director. “I’m very impressed with the quality and caliber of applicants.”